X
Fr / En
© Laurence Esnol Gallery
23
September
2016
Martin Campos | Fragments
28
October
2016
From September 23 to October 28, 2016, Laurence Esnol Gallery will be presenting the first European exhibition of painter Martin Campos.

From September 23 to October 28, 2016, Laurence Esnol Gallery will be presenting the first European exhibition of painter Martin Campos.
An American artist from Philadelphia, Martin Campos was a bit of late bloomer. His early training in Art History revealed and released the tremendous creative energy that had always existed within.
Energy... the first word that comes to mind when faced with the work of Martin Campos. It emerges in a constant eruption of life. Colors and bodies collide in ambitious compositions, in an architecture that seems to forever be pushing back the physical borders of his canvases.
Weaving in and out of his work like a common thread, feminine bodies are omnipresent. Far from any sort of precious representation, Campos’s bodies are well affirmed and dignified, yielding totem-like power. Like a mirror, they reflect the artist’s feminine side, his generative, creative, and at times, matrix-like power.
Of Spanish, Peruvian, and Mexican descent, Martin Campos grew up surrounded by women. This feminine household formed the basis of his identity, leading the artist to reject the dominating Hispanic male archetype and through his paintings, to celebrate a simultaneously multiple and universal Woman, an eternal muse...
As his artwork evolves, it echoes his life. His strokes are as free as they are precise, as sensual as they are deliberate, expressing spontaneous outpourings and recurrences, stretching and fragmenting bodies to better establish their rule over a kingdom of colors.

  2022
  2022
  2022
x
Haut de page
©2022 Laurence Esnol Gallery

X
Fr / En
© Laurence Esnol Gallery
23
septembre
2016
Martin Campos | Fragments
28
octobre
2016
Du 23 septembre au 28 octobre 2016, Laurence Esnol Gallery présente la première exposition européenne du peintre Martin Campos.

Du 23 septembre au 28 octobre 2016, Laurence Esnol Gallery présente la première exposition européenne du peintre Martin Campos.
Artiste américain, résidant à Philadelphie, Martin Campos décide sur le tard de consacrer sa vie à la création. Sa formation initiale en Histoire de l’Art aura servi de révélateur et libéré la formidable énergie créatrice qui vit en lui depuis toujours.
Energie. Voilà le premier mot qui vient à l’esprit lorsque l’on se trouve face aux œuvres de Martin Campos. Tout est vie, jaillissement. Les couleurs et les corps s’entrechoquent dans d’ambitieuses compositions dont l’architecture semble vouloir repousser les limites physiques de la toile.
Omniprésent dans l’œuvre de l’artiste, le corps féminin en est le fil rouge. Loin de toute représentation mièvre, les corps sont affirmés, dignes, d’une puissance totémique. Ils reflètent, tel un miroir, la part féminine de l’artiste et sa force génératrice et créatrice, même matricielle.
D’origine espagnole, équatorienne, mexicaine, Martin Campos grandit entouré de femmes. Ce gynécée familial est éminemment constitutif de son identité. L’artiste rejette l’archétype du mâle dominant hispanique et célèbre dans ses peintures la Femme multiple et universelle, l’éternelle muse...
Les mouvements de l’art sont un écho à ceux de sa vie. Le trait, aussi juste que libre, est sensuel et ferme. Un élan spontané, fait de ruptures et de rebond, étire les corps et les fragmente pour mieux les faire régner sur un royaume de couleurs.

  2019
  2019
  2019
x
Haut de page
©2019 Laurence Esnol Gallery