X
Fr / En
© Laurence Esnol Gallery
09
December
2016
Dongni HouNexus - Scène Emergente
13
January
2017
Dongni Hou was born in 1987 in Fuxin, in the Chinese province of Liaoning. Studying graphic arts from a very young age, she joined the famous Russian Academy of Arts in St. Petersburg at the age of 19. One of the works presented within the context of her Master's was selected to be a part of the Academy's permanent collection. She now lives and works in France, studying at the Higher School of Art of Nord-Pas de Calais Dunkirk - Tourcoing, broadening her reflections on contemporary art.

From December 9 to January 13, 2017, Laurence Esnol Gallery is presenting "Nexus," an exhibition that will unveil work by Hélène Delmaire, Dongni Hou and Julie de Pierrepont. Three young female artists with a unique way of exploring territories made up of formal and intellectual crossovers. 
 
In medicine, a nexus describes a cellular junction and refers more commonly to the connection between two areas. The work of these artists is pervaded by an examination of the interconnectedness of things. This is not about oppositions - rather about interweaving and assembling worlds and ideas. A dialog is engaged between traditional practice and contemporary creation, nature and nurture, between the roots of childhood and the brutality of an adult world. 
 
Bodies are never too far removed. The carnal, organic, and at times matrix-like dimension of these works is an exploration of intimacy and of its counterpart, overexposure. Bordering on obsession is the concept of total creation, whether it be artistic, physical, or a manifestation of the psyche.

Between these lines and stories, and between gentleness and diligence, each piece offers its share of symbolic or factual subversion. One cannot help but be blown away by such introspective work, shaken to the core, at times projected to the tenuous border between fascination and rejection. 

Nexus is a sensory experience into which one slips as if into a memory, between dream time and the reminiscence of a primal magma.

Back to top
©2019 Laurence Esnol Gallery

X
Fr / En
© Laurence Esnol Gallery
09
décembre
2016
Dongni HouNexus - Scène Emergente
13
janvier
2017
Dongni Hou est née en 1987 en Chine dans la province du Liaoning à Fuxin. Elle étudie les arts plastiques dès son plus jeune âge et intègre à 19 ans la célèbre Académie des Beaux-Arts de Saint-Pétersbourg en Russie. A l'occasion de l'obtention de son Master, une de ses œuvres est choisie pour rejoindre les collections permanente du Musée de l'Académie. Elle vit et réside aujourd'hui en France, étudie à l'ESA de Dunkerque et enrichit ses réflexions sur l'Art Contemporain.

Du 9 décembre au 13 janvier 2017, Laurence Esnol Gallery présente l'exposition "Nexus" et dévoile le travail d'Hélène Delmaire, Dongni Hou et Julie de Pierrepont. Trois jeunes artistes, trois femmes, qui chacune à leur manière explorent des territoires de jonctions formelles et intellectuelles. 

Dans le lexique médical, le Nexus est une jonction cellulaire. Plus communément, il s'agit d'un lien entre deux sphères. Cette interrogation sur le lien irrigue le travail de ces trois artistes. Pas question ici d’oppositions, les mondes et les idées sont assemblées d’un trait, tissés ensemble. Le dialogue opère entre une pratique plastique traditionnelle et la création contemporaine, entre l'inné et l'acquis, les racines de l'enfance et la brutalité du monde adulte. 

Le corps n'est jamais loin dans les œuvres de ces jeunes femmes. La dimension tour à tour charnelle, organique, voire même matricielle des œuvres présentées interroge l'intime et son pendant : la surexposition. L'idée de création totale est quasi obsédante, qu'elle soit artistique, physique ou émanation de la psyché.

Entre les lignes et les récits, entre la douceur et l'application, chaque œuvre présente son lot de subversion symbolique ou factuelle. Ces œuvres introspectives nous sautent à la face et nous remuent les tripes, nous plongeant parfois à la lisière ténue de la fascination et du repoussoir. 

Nexus relève de l'expérience sensorielle, on s'y glisse comme dans un souvenir, entre le rêve et la mémoire d'un magma originel.

Haut de page
©2017 Laurence Esnol Gallery