X
Fr / En
© Laurence Esnol Gallery

Jeanne Isabelle Cornière was born in Paris in 1974, lives and works in Florence

She is from French and Italian origin. Since she was as a child she was in contact with the world of art and music (her father is the composer Yves Cornière ). As part of her artistic research she uses particularly painting and sculpture, exploring the theme of childhood, memory, and time as the main themes of her poetry. After her university studies, she exhibited her work in solo and group exhibitions in Italy and abroad.

The sculpture work of Jeanne-Isabelle Cornière is a meditative investigation on human nature. The chosen subjects represent memories and meetings, relaying images of an attitude, of a perception towards life.


Cornière investigates the time of childhood with elegance and depth of thought as a place not only of growth, but also of truth.
The theme of biographical reminiscence permeates the works in this series. Each piece takes the shape of a synthetic figure dominated by white, timeless chalk, interrupted only by small coloured elements, or glass and paper objects. The element that comes out of the clarity of the plaster is what deepens the roots, the here and now, from which the piece originates and to which the “rèverie” returns.


The artist uses additional media to complete her research surrounding the sculpture. In particular, the preparatory notes are taken with photography, followed by painting as a form of contemplation. Watercolours are made using sumi-e brushes according to the zen technique of Japanese calligraphy. A gestural painting sequence involving the whole body is carried out repeatedly for each subject in the series. In this sense, the painting technique becomes a meditation practice, which aims to achieve a perfection that transcends ordinary judgment of the work.


The result of this exercise on her sculptures is apparent in the subtle grace of the gestures, and simultaneously, in the depth of their presence. Cornière’s work is an extension of her research and reflections: dexterity and breadth in moment and time, the creation of memories and new experiences; all taking their final shape in Cornière’s extraordinary works of art.

Silvia Petronici

Aucun livre

Jeanne Isabelle Corniere Le ballon 2017 Jeanne Isabelle Corniere Le Ballon 2017 Jeanne Isabelle Corniere Le Papillon Détail 2017 Jeanne Isabelle Corniere Le Papillon 2017 Jeanne Isabelle Corniere La Cuffia #2 2017 Jeanne Isabelle Corniere Rêverie 2017 Jeanne Isabelle Corniere Ricordi al vento 2017
Jeanne Isabelle Corniere Le ballon 2017
Le ballon , 2017
resin, blown glass and wool on base of wood / 47 x 13.5 x 13.5 cm
Jeanne Isabelle Corniere Le Ballon 2017
Le Ballon , 2017
bronze, blown glass and wool on base of wood / 47 x 13.5 x 13.5
Jeanne Isabelle Corniere Le Papillon Détail 2017
Le Papillon Détail , 2017
/
Jeanne Isabelle Corniere Le Papillon 2017
Le Papillon , 2017
resin / 78 x 41 x 32
Jeanne Isabelle Corniere La Cuffia #2 2017
La Cuffia #2 , 2017
resin / 46 x 19 x 34
Jeanne Isabelle Corniere Rêverie 2017
Rêverie , 2017
resin / 80 x 32 x 20 cm
Jeanne Isabelle Corniere Ricordi al vento 2017
Ricordi al vento , 2017
resin and blown glass on base of wood / 55 x 30 x 30 cm
x
Back to top
©2017 Laurence Esnol Gallery

X
Fr / En
© Laurence Esnol Gallery

Jeanne Isabelle Corniere est née à  Paris en 1974, vit et travaille à Florence.

Elle est d'origine franco-italienne. Dès son enfance, elle est au contact avec le monde de l'art et de la musique (son père est le compositeur Yves Cornière). Dans le cadre de la recherche artistique, elle utilise en particulier la sculpture, le dessin et la peinture, en explorant les thèmes du temps, du souvenir et de l'enfance. Après ses études universitaires, elle expose son travail dans des expositions personnelles et collectives en Italie et à l'étranger.

 

La sculpture dans l'œuvre d'Isabelle Cornière est un exercice sérieux d'enquête sur la nature humaine, les sujets choisis sont les images d'une attitude, d'une position face à la vie. Il s'agit de souvenirs et de rencontres.

Le temps de l'enfance est étudié avec une élégance et une profondeur de pensée comme un lieu non seulement de la croissance, mais de la vérité.

Le thème du souvenir et la dimension biographique s'expriment dans ce travail à travers une esthétique de la synthèse dominée par l'intemporalité du plàtre blanc, qu'interrompent seulement de petits éléments colorés, ou des objets en verre et en papier. Ces éléments qui ressortent sur la candeur du matériau assurent un point d'ancrage dans l'ici et maintenant d'où provient et vers lequel retourne la rêverie.

Autour de la sculpture, l'artiste utilise d'autres média pour continuer sa recherche. En particulier , la photographie, utilisée comme une prise de notes et la peinture, comme technique de méditation. Les aquarelles, en effet, sont réalisées selon la technique zen sumi- e avec les pinceaux à calligraphie japonais. Une peinture gestuelle qui implique l'ensemble du corps et nécessite la répétition en série de sujets choisis. En ce sens, c'est une pratique méditative plus qu'une technique picturale, qui vise à atteindre une perfection qui va au-delà du jugement sur son propre travail.

Les résultats formels de cet exercice sont évidents dans la légèreté qu'elle est en mesure de trouver dans le geste de ses sculptures, de mème que, en mème temps, dans la profondeur de leur présence.

Tout le travail d' I.Cornière est une exploration délicate menée autour de cette quète et de ces réflexions. Lègèreté et profondeur, instant et temps , souvenirs et nouvelles rencontres..

Silvia Petronici

Aucun livre

Jeanne Isabelle Cornière Le ballon 2017 Jeanne Isabelle Cornière Le Ballon 2017 Jeanne Isabelle Cornière Le Papillon Détail 2017 Jeanne Isabelle Cornière Le Papillon 2017 Jeanne Isabelle Cornière La Cuffia #2 2017 Jeanne Isabelle Cornière Rêverie 2017 Jeanne Isabelle Cornière Ricordi al vento 2017
Jeanne Isabelle Cornière Le ballon 2017
Le ballon , 2017
résine, verre soufflé et laine sur base de bois / 47 x 13.5 x 13.5 cm
Jeanne Isabelle Cornière Le Ballon 2017
Le Ballon , 2017
bronze, verre soufflé et laine sur base de bois / 47 x 13.5 x 13.5
Jeanne Isabelle Cornière Le Papillon Détail 2017
Le Papillon Détail , 2017
/
Jeanne Isabelle Cornière Le Papillon 2017
Le Papillon , 2017
résine / 78 x 41 x 32
Jeanne Isabelle Cornière La Cuffia #2 2017
La Cuffia #2 , 2017
résine / 46 x 19 x 34
Jeanne Isabelle Cornière Rêverie 2017
Rêverie , 2017
résine / 80 x 32 x 20 cm
Jeanne Isabelle Cornière Ricordi al vento 2017
Ricordi al vento , 2017
résine et verre soufflé sur base de bois / 55 x 30 x 30 cm
x
Haut de page
©2017 Laurence Esnol Gallery